What is a “picture line”?

I am Anastasia, a 21 year old female artist and dancer. I am currently enrolled at the University of Maryland studying art, specifically digital media. My hope one day is to be a successful photographer. At the University of Maryland, not only do I study art, but I also have become immersed in the ballroom dance community. It started freshman year when I decided to join a club because I was a commuter and hadn’t had a chance yet to make a lot of friends. I did ballet when I was very little, and I wanted to find my way back to the dancing world. I thought ballroom would be a great outlet to make friends and to dance again. I didn’t realize how much it would take up my life. Now three years, I am president of the ballroom dance team, working with my amazing partner to make our debut in open (I’ll explain more what the different levels mean in a different post).

Now what is a picture line? A picture line is a figure in which the couple stops moving and creates a beautiful line with their bodies. During these short moments, it is a photographers oppertune time to take a picture of the dancers at their best possible moment. The picture at the end of the post demonstrates the many different picture lines, or line figures, performed by Mirko Gozzoli and Alessia Betti, who no longer dance together.

When I’m not doing school work or practicing dance, I take my camera out and take photos. Recently I have been focusing on dancesport photography and concert photography. Now I love all forms, but those two types of photography really are speaking to me right now. I want to use this blog to post my photography and art to share and grow. That’s all that I have for now. Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think or if you have any questions.

Image

Leave a Reply

