Photography: Idea

So one class has ended, 3 more to go for the semester. And of course it’s the class that I never really wanted to end, Photography. Of course I will continue to shoot, but shooting with digital isn’t the same. I love both mediums, but there is something about film photography that makes everything feel right in my world (though only having a limited number of shots does not add to this feeling). You know how everyone has those scents that make them feel relaxed? Well, the smell of developer is one of mine. I know it’s not the most appealing smell in the world, but I have had the some of my best experiences as an artist come out of the darkroom, that my brain has just associated the smell with feeling good. This is not to say, however, that I always feel calm and relaxed in the darkroom either. But it definitely is a smell that can change my attitude for the day if I’m having one.

The good news is that I am taking the Advanced Photography class next semester! Yay! There is a lot more freedom within this class. I think the requirements are that we have 25 complete final prints by the end of the semester that have a story or idea behind them. I have been thinking about how I want to execute this assignment. Of course the obvious answer is: keep shooting dancers. But that’s not really a story now is it? Sure it’s a concept; however, it’s a very broad concept. I wanted a more narrow idea. Something that had a clear beginning, middle and end. I have been thinking about this since I started out calling for dancers to have me shoot their practices, which has been about a month. It wasn’t until last night that I came up with an idea that I think will work. My plan is to pick a 1-2 couples and shoot them exclusively throughout the semester. I want to be their shadow for an entire three months. Taking pictures of their practices, their prep hours before the competition, dancing during the competition, and the aftermath of the competition. I want to be able to document what it takes to get where you want to go, and what happens  if you achieve the goals or not.

I have no idea exactly how I want to do this, or who I want to track, but this is just the core idea. There is still a lot of fleshing out  that needs to be done. Let me know in the comments below what you think of this idea!

Leave a Reply

